About Us

About Us
Home > About Us > The Council

The Council

The Council comprises 15-21 members appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. Members are appointed based on their expertise and experience in quality assurance, education and training as well as industry. The Council membership includes an international perspective by having 4-7 Members from outside Hong Kong. 

The Council meets three times a year, i.e. in January, May and September. Its work is supported by three standing committees:

  • Qualifications and Accreditation Committee (Please click here for QAC’s terms of reference and membership)
  • Finance Committee (Please click here for FC’s terms of reference and membership)
  • Personnel and Administration Committee (Please click here for PAC’s terms of reference and membership)

Members of the Council for the current term (effective 1 October 2017) are listed below. Please click on the name of the Council Member to view biographical information.


Ir Dr Alex CHAN Siu-kun
, BBS 
Managing Director

Applied Technology Integration Limited


Mr Roger Thomas BEST, JP

Non-local Members

Professor James CALLEJA 
European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training

Ms Jane von DADELSZEN 
Education and Government Policy Consultant
New Zealand

Professor Zita FAHMI
Fellow QA Specialist
Malaysian Qualifications Agency

Director of Quality Assurance
Quality and Qualifications Ireland

Professor Bjørn STENSAKER
Research Professor
University of Oslo

Local Members

Professor Chetwyn CHAN Che-hin 
Associate Vice President (Learning and Teaching)
Chair Professor of Rehabilitation Sciences
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Ir Francis CHENG Cho-ying, MH 
Operations Director
The Hong Kong Electric Co. Ltd.

Ms Margaret CHENG Wai-ching
Human Resources Director
MTR Corporation Limited

Professor HAU Kit-tai, BBS, MH, JP 
Choh-Ming Li Professor of Educational Psychology
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Paul LAM Kwan-sing, SBS, JP 
Chief-of-Staff (Vice-President)
City University of Hong Kong

Professor PONG Ting-chuen 
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Professor Isabella POON Wai-yin
Pro-Vice-Chancellor / Vice-President
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ms Edith SHIH
Executive Director and Company Secretary
CK Hutchison Holdings Limited

Professor Paul TAM Kwong-hang 
Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
The University of Hong Kong

Ms Candy TAM Lai-chuen, MH
Candyfoon Infinity

Mr Wilfred WONG Kam-pui, JP 
Managing Director
RESOLUTIONS HR & Business Consultancy Co. Ltd.

Ex-officio Members

Mr Brian LO Sai-hung, JP
Deputy Secretary for Education

(Representing the Permanent Secretary for Education)

Executive Director
Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications

Requests to review Council Member(s)’ declaration of interests should be made in writing by completing the form and forwarding it to the Council Secretary by post (10 Siu Sai Wan Road, Chai Wan, Hong Kong) or by fax (2845 5951).